Posts

City of Windows

Image
 By: Robert Pobi Location: FIC POB Genre: Thriller, Mystery- crime Hold on tight, major turbulence ahead! Robert Pobi is about to take you on a full-throttle action ride! "Robert Pobi's fast paced, action packed crime thriller is intense, and so gripping that it will have you turning the pages frantically right through to the nail biting finale " Pajamet In the tradition of Jeffery Deaver’s Lincoln Rhyme and David Baldacci’s Amos Decker, Robert Pobi's  City of Windows  introduces Lucas Page, a brilliant, reluctant investigator, matching wits with a skilled, invisible killer During the worst blizzard in memory, an FBI agent in a moving SUV in New York City is killed by a nearly impossible sniper shot. Unable to pinpoint where the shot came from, as the storm rapidly wipes out evidence, the agent-in-charge Brett Kehoe turns to the one man who might be able to help them—former FBI agent Lucas Page. Page, a university professor and bestselling author, left the FBI years

My Calamity Jane

Image
 By: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows  Location: FIC MEA Genre: Historical Fiction- Re tellings Series: The Lady Janies #3 “For the boat rockers, the rulebreakers, and the troublemakers. No one ever became a legend by blending in.”   Hold on to your hats: The authors who brought you the  New York Times  bestseller  My Plain Jane , which  Booklist  praised as “delightfully deadpan” (starred review) and  Publishers Weekly  called “a clever, romantic farce” (starred review), are back with another irreverent historical adventure. Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers, outlaws, and garou—better known as werewolves. And where there are garou, there’re hunters: the one and only Calamity Jane, to be precise, along with her fellow stars of Wild Bill’s Traveling Show, Annie Oakley and Frank “the Pistol Prince” Butler. After a garou hunt goes south and Jane finds a suspicious-like bite on her arm, she turns tail for Deadwood, where there’s talk of a garou cure. But

A Million Things

Image
 By: Emily Spurr  Location: FIC SPU Genre: Family, Fiction, Australia "Simply the Best!! Brilliant & Completely Heart-Wrenching!" Rae is ten years old, and she’s tough. She’s had to be: life with her mother has taught her the world is not her friend. Now suddenly her mum is gone and Rae is alone, except for her dog Splinter. Rae can do a lot of things pretty well for a kid. She can shop and cook a little and take care of Splints and keep the front yard neat enough that the neighbours won’t get curious. But she is gnawed at by fear and sadness; haunted by the shadow of a terrible secret. Lettie, the old woman who lives next door, might know more about Rae than she lets on—but she has her own reasons for keeping the world at arm’s length. When Rae finds out what they are, it seems like she and Lettie could help each other. But how long can a friendship based on secrets last? A Million Things is a tender, funny, and heartbreaking story of how we cope with grief. "What b

The Camelot Betrayal

Image
 By: Kristin White Location: FIC WHI Genre: Fantasy- Retellings Series: #2  A Camelot Risising Novel "The Camelot Betrayal  was an excellent installment for this series and continued to be full of all the Arthurian folklore I love. The story is more focused on Guinevere’s character growth than anything, but it was all beautifully written. I cannot wait for the third book! " Breanna The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White, exploring the nature of self, the inevitable cost of progress, and, of course, magic and romance and betrayal so epic Queen Guinevere remains the most famous queen who never lived. EVERYTHING IS AS IT SHOULD BE IN CAMELOT: King Arthur is expanding his kingdom’s influence with Queen Guinevere at his side. Yet every night, dreams of darkness and unknowable power plague her. Guinevere might have accepted her role, but she still cannot find a place for herself in all of it. The closer she gets to Brangien, p

Long Bright River

Image
 By: Liz Moore Location: FIC MOO Genre: Crime, Thriller This is a multi-layered story, extremely well written, fast paced, heartbreaking and yet in the end hopeful. The characters are unique, well described and believable. I felt my heart breaking at times for people who live on the streets, tortured and controlled by their addictions. The  New York Times  bestseller and  Guardian  Book of the Month 'This flawless masterpiece  deserves to be a bestseller.'   DAILY EXPRESS ‘Tough, tense and twisty - but tender, human and deeply affecting, too ... I don't have a sister, but when I finished the book I called my brother, just to hear his voice.’  LEE CHILD 'An outstanding crime novel.'  PAULA HAWKINS, author of  The Girl on the Train THE FIRST PLACE YOU GO FOR DRUGS OR SEX. THE LAST PLACE YOU WANT TO LOOK FOR YOUR SISTER. Mickey Fitzpatrick has been patrolling the 24th District for years. She knows most of the working women by name. She knows what desperation looks like

Trouble in a Tutu

Image
 By: Helen Lipscombe Location: FIC LIP Genre: Ballet Milly, her mum and her glamorous babushka head to the Nutcracker for a Christmas treat – but instead their evening ends in disaster. A dangerous trickster who calls himself ‘the Mouse King’ is playing a deadly game with Swan House, the ballet school for spies. As Milly navigates her second term, she starts to suspect there is more to the new Head of Ballet and his perfect daughter than meets the eye ... but will she let jealousy cloud her judgement? Milly, her mum and her glamorous babushka head to the Nutcracker for a Christmas treat – but instead their evening ends in a bomb scare disaster. A dangerous trickster who calls himself ‘the Mouse King’ is playing a deadly game with Swan House, the ballet school for spies. As Milly navigates her second term, she starts to suspect there is more to the new Head of Ballet and his perfect daughter than meets the eye... but will she let jealousy cloud her judgement?

Realm Breaker

Image
 By: Victoria Breaker   Location: FIC AVE Genre:  Fantasy, Magic Series: #1 Realm Breaker A strange darkness grows in Allward. Even Corayne an-Amarat can feel it, tucked away in her small town at the edge of the sea. She soon discovers the truth: She is the last of an ancient lineage—and the last hope to save the world from destruction. But she won’t be alone. Even as darkness falls, she is joined by a band of unlikely companions: A squire, forced to choose between home and honor. An immortal, avenging a broken promise. An assassin, exiled and bloodthirsty. An ancient sorceress, whose riddles hide an eerie foresight. A forger with a secret past. A bounty hunter with a score to settle. Together they stand against a vicious opponent, invincible and determined to burn all kingdoms to ash, and an army unlike anything the realm has ever witnessed. Review by Emma This book pretty much includes everything I love! dirty pirates! disappointed mothers! mysterious lineages! extremely tired immort