Posts

Serpent & Dove

Image
By: Shelby Mahurin
Location: FIC MAH
Genre: Fantasy/ Romance/Dark Magic

Best Cover so far this year!

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

ICO- Castle in the Mist

Image
By: Miyuki Miyabe
Location: FIC MIY
Genre: Video Game, Fantasy, Asian

Based on the video game filmmaker Guillemo del Toro (Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth) called a "masterpiece", Japan's leading fantasist Miyuki Miyabe has crafted a tale of magic, loss, and love that will never be forgotten.

When a boy named Ico grows long curved horns overnight, his fate has been sealed-he is to be sacrificed in the Castle in the Mist. But in the castle, Ico meets a young girl named Yorda imprisoned in its halls. Alone they will die, but together Ico and Yorda might just be able to defy their destinies and escape the magic of the castle.

"It is the novelization of a beloved video game, so there is some possibility that my joy in reading it is biased by my fond memories of the engaging mystery and emotion of the game. That being said, I think it would also be a great read for lovers of fantasy who have NOT played the game, even if they do not recognize the places and moments that conjure u…

PET

Image
By: Akwaeke Emeze
Location: FIC EME
Genre: Fantasy LGBT


Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look?
There are no more monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught. With doting parents and a best friend named Redemption, Jam has grown up with this lesson all her life. But when she meets Pet, a creature made of horns and colours and claws, who emerges from one of her mother's paintings and a drop of Jam's blood, she must reconsider what she's been told. Pet has come to hunt a monster, and the shadow of something grim lurks in Redemption's house. Jam must fight not only to protect her best friend, but also to uncover the truth, and the answer to the question-How do you save the world from monsters if no one will admit they exist?

In her riveting and timely young adult debut, acclaimed novelist Akwaeke Emezi asks difficult questions about what choices a young person can make when the adults around them are in denial.


'" We'r…

The Eleventh Trade

Image
By: Alyssa Hollingsworth
Location: FIC HOL
Genre: Middle Grade, Refugee, Friendship

My heart is so full right now. I've just closed the book, and my heart is both crying and singing in joy.It has been a while that a book has moved me so much. But The Eleventh Tradeis one of a kind and I know it will remain in my heart forever. It's one of those books you want to shout from the rooftops about, and especially thank the author sincerely for writing it and making the world a better place.
They say you can't get something for nothing, but nothing is all Sami has. When his grandfather’s most-prized possession—a traditional Afghan instrument called a rebab—is stolen, Sami resolves to get it back. He finds it at a music store, but it costs $700, and Sami doesn’t have even one penny. What he does have is a keychain that has caught the eye of his classmate. If he trades the keychain for something more valuable, could he keep trading until he has $700? Sami is about to find out.

The Eleve…

Jackpot

Image
By: Nic Stone
Location: FIC STO
Genre: Realistic Fiction- Romance - Contemporary

"It is funny, deep, and real. I wish it wasn’t over" Carli

Nic Stone, the New York Times best-selling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out, creates two unforgettable characters in one hard-hitting story about class, money - both too little and too much - and how you make your own luck in the world

From the author of the New York Times best seller Dear Martin - which Angie Thomas, the best-selling author of The Hate U Give, called "a must read" - comes a pitch-perfect romance that examines class, privilege, and how a stroke of good luck can change an entire life.

Meet Rico: high school senior and afternoon-shift cashier at the Gas 'n' Go, who after school and work races home to take care of her younger brother. Every. Single. Day. When Rico sells a jackpot-winning lotto ticket, she thinks maybe her luck will finally change, but only if she - with some assistance from her popular and …

Tiger Heart

Image
By:  Penny Chrimes
Location: FIC CHR
Genre: Magical Adventure 

...this is a really lovely story which I’d recommend to anyone who loves magical adventures and those who love animals" Strawberry
One magical friendship. One roaring adventure.

The magical tale of a bold young chimney sweep and a remarkable tiger, a dangerously hypnotic ruby and a mystical land found across an ocean and through a storm. 

Perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars and Pax.

Fly never meant to end up in a cage with a man-eating tiger. And though she's no princess, when the tiger bows to her, she can't help vowing to free him and return him home.

But the bird-filled jungles and cloud-topped mountains of the tiger's homeland are an ocean away. And not everyone wants the tiger to return.

With dark and dangerous forces working against them, will Fly be able to fulfil her promises, keep them both alive and - just maybe - become the queen her tiger knows her to be?

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

Image
By: Pablo Cartaya Location: FIC CAR Genre: Friendship, Social Activism
Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL? For Arturo, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela's restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a cute poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturo's apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesn't notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of Jose Marti.
"I absolutely loved this story!  From the very beginning Arturo and his family brings you into th…