Thursday, September 6, 2018

Catch me when you fall

Catch Me When You FallBY: Eileen Merriman
Location: FIC Mer
Genre: Young Adult- Sickness, Love

Kiwi version of  Fault In Our Stars

Shortlisted for the 2018 NZ Children's Book Awards


A love story peppered with sadness and featuring two heroes who will break your heart and then mend it again. Alex meets Jamie at the same time as finding out that her leukaemia has returned. She discovers that he is bipolar, but he is also irresistible. It complicates things.

Alex and Jamie sweep readers up and carry them with them in this story of love, struggle, courage and hope.

"Alex is 17, her leukemia has returned, and she is falling in love with Jamie Orange. Set in Christchurch, this young adult novel of first love will move even the most stone-hearted reader to tears. Such good writing and authentic characters make this a stand out book for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Jenny Downham's Before I Die. Highly recommended, just make sure you have the tissues handy!" Carole

"A wonderful New Zealand story that gives the reader a deep insight into the challenges teenagers coping with cancer and bi-polar disorder face while trying to live a normal life and fall in love."- From Goodreads- Trish the Library Queen


No comments:

Post a Comment