Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Only Child

By: Rhiannon Navin
Image result for 9781509855599Location: FIC NAV
Genre: Contemporary Fiction

New Zealand has only had one school shooting in 1923 in Waikino- 2 were killed and six injured. In this country we do not have any fears that when we send our kids to school they will be shot, like in  the USA. I am so thankful for our gun laws as I sit in the library of our school

’I will step onto my soapbox now and say that instead of once again just offering “thoughts and prayers,” every politician should read this book and enact meaningful gun reform laws NOW! And for readers, while the book can be disturbing to read, it is one not to be missed"- Tucker

For readers of Room and The Girls, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a seven-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts and the quietest voices speak the loudest.

Squeezed into a coat closet with his classmates and teacher, first grader Zach Taylor can hear gunshots ringing through the halls of his school. A gunman has entered the building, taking nineteen lives and irrevocably changing the very fabric of this close-knit community. While Zach's mother pursues a quest for justice against the shooter's parents, holding them responsible for their son's actions, Zach retreats into his super-secret hideout and loses himself in a world of books and art. Armed with his newfound understanding, and with the optimism and stubbornness only a child could have, Zach sets out on a captivating journey towards healing and forgiveness, determined to help the adults in his life rediscover the universal truths of love and compassion needed to pull them through their darkest hours

“Lonely is when you want to be with someone instead, and it's a sad feeling. Alone doesn't have to be bad, because you can feel good when you're alone. We decided we both like that sometimes, to be alone.” 

"Zach, at only 6 years old, understands more about the human heart than the broken adults around him. His hope and optimism . . . will have every reader cheering him on, and believing in happy endings even in the face of tragedy -- Washington Post" 

No comments:

Post a Comment